Sharpness

This is a discussion on Sharpness within the General photography forums, part of the Photography & Fine art photography category; I'm relatively new to photography and I have a question about sharpness and clarity. I have a Nikon D60 with ...

jmayoff is offline Junior Member

Default Sharpness

I'm relatively new to photography and I have a question about sharpness and clarity.

I have a Nikon D60 with the kit lens and a 55-200mm zoom. I always shoot raw.

I've taken what I thought would be crystal clear, razor sharp images, only to get back to my computer and find they're nowhere near clear. Then, I look at just about every picture from this guy and I'm amazed at how sharp and clear everything is.

So, my question is this: what are the contributing factors to that crystal clarity and in what ratios are they important. How much does camera body, lens quality, focus, depth of field, shutter speed, photoshop etc. play in getting clear, razor sharp images?

Should I just resign myself to the fact that until I can afford a $2500 lens and $4000 body that I'll be getting almost-but-not-quite-sharp pictures? Or should I be manually focusing more often (is my eye really better than the camera)? Or am I doing something else wrong?

Thanks,
    Jason

tirediron is offline Senior Member

First off, no, you don't need to spend another cent to get sharp pictures unless [and it's VERY unlikely] there's something actually wrong with your gear. Please post a couple of example images so that we can try and help you trouble-shoot further.