Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

a reconsideration of lens hoods

This is a discussion on a reconsideration of lens hoods within the Camera equipment & accessories forums, part of the Education & Technical category; I use lens hoods on all my lenses, and have done so since I first caught the photography bug. But ...

jabber is offline Senior Member

Default a reconsideration of lens hoods

I use lens hoods on all my lenses, and have done so since I first caught the photography bug. But I'm not a pro--just a competent enthusiast--and I'm starting to wonder how necessary hoods really are.

I know people are attached to their hoods, and indeed it has been drummed into me by experts that hoods help 1) protect the front element; 2) avoid lens flare; and 3) improve contrast/color saturation by keeping out stray light.

As for number one, I'm extremely careful with my gear anyway, and don't bang my camera or lens into things. As for number 2, I've experimented without hoods and don't experience lens flare as a problem (or only very rarely and in particular circumstances). As for number three, I'm willing to believe it but I've never seen proof that it is so.

The downside of hoods, for me, is that they make the lens look bigger and more intimidating (and thus have an effect on candid opportunities), they take up room in my bag, and they require yet an extra step (brief though it is) in setting up to shoot.

Does anyone want to try and persuade me that hoods actually aid picture quality? If you can, I'll continue to use them happily. Otherwise, I might just start thinking of them as another subtle way for the camera companies to get a few more bucks out of us.

Thanks for your opinions, Josh
    Canon 40D, 10-22/3.5-4.5, 17-55/2.8 IS, 70-200/4L, 60/2.8 Macro, 85/1.8, 1.4x II Extender, Lensbaby Composer

"I take photographs to see what the thing looks like photographed." -Gary Winogrand

Marko is offline Administrator
    My Photos
    Please do NOT edit my photos
    Critiques